Dance Hall Hips

Be Heard, Not Scene

  • NOTE

    All music made available is for SAMPLING USE ONLY. If you like what you hear, buy the album and support the artist. If you are an artist or representative desiring a track be removed, send an email request, or leave a comment requesting I do so.
  • Current Playlist






Bumbershoot Lineup (Sort of)

Posted by dancehallhips on April 9, 2008

Every spring the innitial Bumbershoot “lineup” is anounced, but really it’s just a collection of confirmed guests rather than a full listing. I always forget this, get dissappointed every year, and swear off the event altogether.

This dissapointment is held until they release more detailed lineups in the months to follow. That’s when my juices start flowin’ again.

Though there are some great Dance Hall Hips approved artists onboard thus far, I hope to see a lot more. Here goes:

Beck, Stone Temple Pilots, Lucinda Williams, Neko Case, Ingrid Michaelson, Del Tha Funky Homosapien, Jakob Dylan, !!!, Lee “Scratch” Perry, Saul Williams, Joe Bonamassa, M. Ward, The Walkmen, Asylum St. Spankers, Dan Deacon, MIDIval PunditZ, Blitzen Trapper, Bedouin Soundclash, Tim Finn, Dale Watson, John Vanderslice, Final Fantasy, The Fall of Troy, Orgone, Forro in the Dark, Ryan Bingham, Wreckless Eric & Amy Rigby, Arthur & Yu, Darondo and Nino Moschella, Pacifika and many more to be announced.

My overall reactions?

Every year Bumbershoot manages to get a legend with tremendous influence and cult following. Last year it was Burt Jansch, and the year before that it was Vashiti Bunyan. This year it appears to be Lee “Scratch” Perry.

Beck will be fun, but I’m particularly fond of cramming in that stadium after dawn, so I might not let that headliner dictate the days I go.

Also, like many, I’m hoping M. Ward will bring along his new buddy, Zooey Deschanel.

One last thing: Jakob Dylan? Whatever happened to the Wallflowers. I always loved them, to be honest. “One Headlight” will always be in my Top 10 favorite 90’s singles. Sure he’s no Bob, but who is.

One Response to “Bumbershoot Lineup (Sort of)”

  1. Rachel said

    I haven’t attended Bumbershoot for a few years but there are a few people on that list I wouldn’t mind seeing. Usually around this time of year I think I’ll go to Bumbershoot and then the actual calendar comes out and they split up the artists I’m interested in so much that I decide to wait until they come back around on their own and play smaller venues for $8 each.

    From that list though, I’d look forward to… The Walkmen, M. Ward, John Vanderslice, Final Fantasy, Neko Case & Ingrid Michaelson.

    M. Ward is an excellent performer… even Zooey-less, although I do love Zooey as well.

Leave a Reply

 
