Dance Hall Hips

Be Heard, Not Scene

  • NOTE

    All music made available is for SAMPLING USE ONLY. If you like what you hear, buy the album and support the artist. If you are an artist or representative desiring a track be removed, send an email request, or leave a comment requesting I do so.
  • Current Playlist






Summer Albums, Pt. 1

Posted by dancehallhips on February 26, 2008

I realize some parts of the country have a while to go before it looks like summer, but out here, it’s finally starting to warm up and get sunny. For those not familiar with Northwestern weather, we have two season: winter and summer. Winter begins near Halloween when it starts to get chilly, and then lasts until March. Throughout this time we are graced with a good half dozen days of sun. For this reason, even if it is not 60 out, I’m truly excited, which brings me to my point…

Every year I end up tieing at least one album to warm weather/summer, to the point where I can’t listen to them in the winter or I pretty much want to die…in a non-suicidal sort of way. Last year it turned out to be the Rosebud’s The Night of Three Furies. The year before that was basically anything by Iron & Wine. The list goes on from there. I know I’m taking a jump start, but I think I’ve already decided on an album; at least my first pick: Band of Horses’ Cease to Begin. Why? They have a perfect blend of loud songs and lax ones, perfect for both car driving (day AND night) and laying around in the hot house all day, not wanting to move. I’m not going to lie, with the departure of Mat Brooke, their explosion in popularity, and their commercial deals, I wanted to hate this album, but it’s grown on me to unbelievable proportions. Damn.

Band of Horses – “Window Blues”

(zshare) (yousendit)

PS: Feel free to note my “bandwidth” section on the right sidebar.

One Response to “Summer Albums, Pt. 1”

  1. Laila said

    I agree on the “it’s growing on me” thing.
    Bought the album, listened maybe twice, thought it was ok, and left it.
    I gave it another chance and now I can’t stop listening to it.
    Let’s making listening to it this summer a joint venture…

Leave a Reply

 
